Do Over

Scene: Bath Time

Background: Long night… late dinner… sharp words have been spoken… bed time looms… Mom’s mind is racing through the check list of all that still needs to be done…  Little man calls out to Mom.  She enters to check on the status of the bath and sees Little Man standing in the tub, holding out a bath toy bottle filled with bath water and Mom’s body wash.

“WHAT are YOU doing?!?!  I’ve told you THAT is NOT for playing with!”

Little Man as face crumples: “But Mom, I wanted to make you a SURPRISE.  Now you can use THIS when you take your showers.”

Mom as heart cracks: “Umm, can I have a do-over?  I’m going to come back in and let’s try this again.”

Mom leaves and re-enters room: “Yes, Little Man?”

Little Man eyes hopefull: “I made this surprise for you.  Do you like it?”

“Wow, thank you for the surprise.  I will think of you everytime I use it.  Are you done with your bath?”

“Nope, not yet.”

“OK.  Can you place my present on the ledge there for me?”

Little Man with a wide grin: “Absotootly!”

Five minutes later Little Man runs into the livingroom with his Spider Man pjs on and carrying his Spider Man blanket.  “Mom!  I’m all ready for bed and I chose my story.  Will you come read it to me?” 

Mom and Little Man read the story and bedtime goes off without a hitch.

End Scene

“Patience is bitter, but its fruit is sweet.” ~ Jean Jacques Rousseau

“Let me look upward into the branches of the flowering oak and know that it grew great and strong because it grew slowly and well.” ~Wilfred A. Peterson

“While we try to teach our children all about life, our children teach us what life is all about.”~Angela Schwindt

This entry was posted in Developing an Understanding, Peaks and Valleys of Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

