Then sings my soul…

My Grandmother wasn’t the cookie baking, cheek pinching, doting old woman type.

She climbed mountains literally and figuratively.  She was one of the strongest and kindest people I’ve ever been blessed to know.

She had a knack of making you feel TRULY listened to, of giving council without chastising you, of letting you know how proud she was AND that she expected great things out of you.

She disagreed strongly with some of my life choices and yet allowed me to make them without judgment.  She helped me to reassemble broken pieces without a single, “I told you so.”  She taught me what unconditional love FELT like. 

Life had taught her the value of patience, of putting one foot in front of the other, of persistence.  She endured heart aches I can only imagine with a grace I aspire to.

I miss her terribly and am honored to be her granddaughter. 

Her all time favorite hymn was “How Great Thou Art“.  I didn’t know this until I sang it along with her congregation after she passed six years ago.

 …When through the woods,
And forest glades I wander
I hear the birds
Sing sweetly in the trees;
When I look down
From lofty mountains grandeur
And hear the brook
And feel the gentle breeze;
 
Then sings my soul,
My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art!

 

We often spoke of awe inspiring vistas and simple pleasures like moonlight through the pines.  

This morning I woke to the full moon peeking through my bedroom window.  On my drive to work, the mountains were crystal clear in all their purple majesty. This evening, after leaving friends I noticed the stars twinkling in the black sky. 

And though there are many raw emotions this evening, I felt peace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

